Alone versus Lonely

Yes, I’ve been alone most of this past week. My son has been out of town, a glimpse of what soon will be the norm as he heads off to college in the fall.

It was just me, the cat and the quiet. Of course, I haven’t stayed home for the nine days, not even one of them. I haven’t not been around people, even if for just a small part of the day.

I appreciate every part of my day. The aloneness and the togetherness. The quiet and the calm, interjected with occasional chatter, movement.

Is it okay to be happy and alone? The expectation is that I am lonely. Am I? I do yearn for companionship, which is part of what drives me to yoga daily and to schedule dinner with a friend. Or an afternoon movie. Or just drinks and conversation.

So yes, I’m alone and I’m happy. Go figure!

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Alone versus Lonely

  1. BSoltero says:

    Sometimes you just want to be alone and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that! But, it is nice to know that when you need someone like a friend to hang out with, you have that too! I’m single and live alone with my dog and I’m perfectly fine with it! But when I need some “people time” I know exactly who to call or where to go 🙂

  2. I really treasure alone time – and will go through all sorts of gyrations to get it into my week!

  3. You sound like a contented person with a wonderful life! It’s a big adjustment when our children leave for college, but change is part of life (I tell myself).

  4. daywells says:

    What a beautiful post. My son is in his second year at college (home now for spring break) and my daughter is a senior in HS. Soon she’ll be off to school. I have to admit to being surprised at enjoying my time alone (and to filling MOST of it up to overflowing) more than I expected. It comes on so suddenly that the kids are “cooked”! Thank you for sharing your experience.

Leave a Reply

