I’ve never even seen a mountain…

I didn’t think about it very much at the time he said it. Yeah, I guess a lot of people haven’t seen a mountain. We live in central Texas on the edge of the Hill Country, but mountains they aren’t. This young kid was fresh out of high school, four months into a minimum wage job which he was happy to have.

The more I thought about it, the more I reflected on the privileged life I, and probably most of us, lead. Yes, I’ve seen mountains. Skied on them, flew over them, even the Alps. I’ve had access to the world since I was sixteen. I didn’t come from a wealth, but my dad took an overseas job which opened the universe to our family.

I have seen and experienced amazing things on five continents. I went to college and graduate school. And I had the luxury to stay home when my children were young to nurture their growth.

There are so many others who don’t have the opportunities I have had. I watched McFarland USA yesterday, a sports biopic about a man who coaches migrant kids into becoming a state championship cross-country team in the late 1980’s. I’d highly recommend it for a great story that is very well-told.

Often it takes a champion, someone who can speak for those who are less fortunate. And sometimes just someone who can listen and learn to understand what their lives are like can make a huge difference. Something to remember as we move throughout our daily lives.

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve never even seen a mountain…

  1. Ms Kelly says:

    Your post reminded me to take the time to count one’s blessings, and sharing our gifts with others…

  2. I often hear these types of statements about things they have not seen or done from my students. It is so important as teachers to give them these experiences through our teaching. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

