Casual Conversations

I had the most amazing conversation with a grease monkey today. Well, I guess that’s what he wanted to be. He worked at the place I took my car to for an oil change. He had the job of transporting me to and from my house while others were working on my car. I discovered a lot about him on those short trips.

He’s about to move into his first apartment and worried about how he’s going to eat healthy since he doesn’t know how to cook. He was also worried about making all the decisions on his own. This young kid sweetly mentioned how he always asks his mom’s opinion about what he should do.

I also learned that he loved to write when he was in high school! He talked about reading a couple of books that made him want to write like those authors. I couldn’t wait to hear what the books were. The Great Gatsby by Fitzgerald and The Sun Also Rises by Hemingway. Talk about an unexpected response! He had even read Gatsby five times.

He talked about wanting to write again. I didn’t hesitate to share about blogging and how easy it was to get started. I don’t know how serious he was, but he said he was going to start tonight. He truly sounded excited about the possibility. It just goes to show that you shouldn’t judge a book by the cover or a person by his job.

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Casual Conversations

  1. raeily says:

    This made me smile! How wonderful that life brought you two together and that you were able to suggest blogging to him. I hope he takes it up and is able to become the writer he wants to be. How kind of you to talk with him and listen. I imagine not very many people are so kind.

    • tammyyoga says:

      You know, I hadn’t really thought about it, but he did mention twice how much he enjoyed talking with me. He was such a nice, earnest guy. It’s sad to think that some might not take the time to learn about him.

Leave a Reply

