Enough about me…

This is not the post I planned on writing tonight. I had another experience today that I thought worth sharing.

But I have been working for hours writing about how wonderful I am and how diligently I’ve been working all year. Yes, it’s already time to fill out the paperwork (online now) so my principal can complete my annual review. It is nice to take the time to review the gains and losses during the year. I’m actually feeling pretty good about all I’ve accomlished so far and we still have 2 1/2 months to go.

But I am tired of working so hard, so many hours. It takes so much focus and energy to stay on top of it all, or at least feel like you’re close to the top of the pile. It doesn’t take too much time before a new teacher realizes this is the hardest job he/she will ever have. Unfortunately, sometimes it can take way too long before it feels like the most rewarding job he/she will ever have.

I know three or four friends who are this close (imagine how close I’m holding my fingers) to retiring early. Giving up the long hours and low pay. The constant comsumption of their time and energy.

But then next week is Spring Break. A time of rest and renewal. Will they forget their previous complaints? Will they be fresh again like the beginning of the year? Will they begin that familiar refrain, “Well, just one more year.”?

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Enough about me…

  1. Well written piece! Wow! You’ have quite a decision on your hands! Enjoy your Spring Break!

  2. Amanda Regan says:

    I hear you! It is exhausting being a teacher and trying to stay on top of it all. Then there’s your personal life that demands attention and focus from time to time! Enjoy your spring break!

Leave a Reply

