Do the words ‘art’ and ‘competition’ go together?

I spent the morning at an elementary UIL competition, the first one in our district. Everyone was so excited, teachers, parents and students! These are the kids who put in the extra effort and are usually above and beyond their peers. They want to excel, or at least their parents want them to!

I participated in a subject outside my expertise, art. It was really fun and a great learning experience. The students who joined me were enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I was impressed from Day 1. I couldn’t have asked them to try any harder. I was more of a caretaker, rather than an importer of knowledge. Our weekly meetings made for an enjoyable Tuesday afternoon.

I am now looking at art in a much different way, thinking about the elements as well as the history of the art period. And trying to think more about what the artist intended, why did he/she make it the size it is, where did the name come from? I started to think I would love to actually be able to talk with the artist, especially while the work is being created.

Then I realized I had the opportunity at a local event last weekend and I avoided the artists! I didn’t think I knew what to talk with them about. Why didn’t I just imagine they were Picasso or O’Keefe and cherish the time I had with them? Something for me to reflect on. Why did I let that opportunity slip by?

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do the words ‘art’ and ‘competition’ go together?

  1. It’s the unknown that can often be terrifying!

  2. Pat says:

    Sounds as though you were stepping out of your comfort zone and got a new perspective. Good job writing the reflection.

  3. Crystal Brooks says:

    What an interesting reflection, I’m not one to speak with people in person. I often get tongue tied. What would you have said to them thinking about them as famous writers?

  4. bayouwarrior says:

    I’ll bet you were just gearing up for next time for when you say, “Hello. What prompted you to choose that title?”

Leave a Reply

