Sunshine on My Shoulder!

What a beautiful day it was today. We’ve had weeks with very little sunshine, so when it came out today and stayed, it impacted everyone. We smiled, we laughed, and there was a spring in our steps. I was reminded of John Denver’s song, “Sunshine on My Shoulder” so beautifully sung by one of the favorites from my teenage years.

Makes me happy, he says. Yes it does, every time I feel that warm sunshine on my shoulders. It was a different time, as they say. Simpler. And his songs might be called plain by today’s standards, but they spoke to me back then. I still think I know all the words.

There’s actually a documentary out now on PBS about John’s life. Fun to watch the hairstyles and clothes, oh my! Who knew he did a variety show on the BBC. Seeing the clips, it’s hard to believe people watched it. But they did and his popularity grew in the states. Anything could happen in the ‘70s!

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunshine on My Shoulder!

  1. I love that John Denver song. It always makes me happy. Thanks for making me think of his wonderful voice and that song on this sunny day.

Leave a Reply

