Not what I expected to be doing today.…  

Yesterday I was wondering what I would do with myself having an unexpected day off. Today I’m wondering if this is the day I put my cat down. Sorry to be blunt, but she’s had kidney issues and I’ve been warned, based on her age that her time is coming to an end. That was two years ago.

But today, because I was home and had time to pay attention, I realized that she has vision issues now. My son said she walked into the wall last night. I was in the room, but didn’t see it. Today I saw it. It was like watching a blind person carefully maneuver up to and around the furniture as she made her way from my room to her food dish.

If I hadn’t been off, I wouldn’t have been able to get her to the vet this morning. Tests are being run. Expensive ones. She has high blood pressure. And kidney issues. And I have to go back at 2:00 p.m. to find out what to do about it. This won’t be her last day, but I have to decide how much time and money I put into keeping her alive. She’s at least 18 years old. I’m not cold-hearted, but she’s an animal and she wasn’t intended to live forever. Right now she’s not in pain, but if I thought she was, I would have her put down right away. I wish someone else could show me a pros and cons chart and an exact dollar figure and make the decision for me. Not what I expected to be doing today.

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not what I expected to be doing today.…  

  1. I’m so sorry. As someone who wept when I had to put our parakeet down many years ago, I can only imagine what a difficult decision this is. Sending you comforting thoughts…

  2. juliecrocker says:

    I am so sorry. This tears me up – I love animals and I can’t bear that your days with your sweet cat might be coming to an end.

  3. bayouwarrior says:

    They say that hell is not having a choice, but sometimes it is having to choose. I am sending you good vibes and a wish for peace in your heart.

Leave a Reply

