Where do they get it from?

I’ve attended several events recently and been wowed by the intensity of the speakers. Yes, they were amazing lecturers, but they were obviously also experts on their topics, which of course they should be. But it was probably their passion that struck me the most. Their love of the search for knowledge and their eagerness to share all that they knew.

Each meeting I attended left me wanting to be better, to try harder, to learn more. An affiliate with the Mensa for Kids organization shared opportunities I could use in my classroom the very next day. And that was in the first five minutes. She went on to explain how they designed a pen that kids who wake up with ideas can use because it lights up, but not too much so it won’t keep them awake. Ingenious!

Today it was the person in charge of professional development for our school district. He’s the one that overloads us with emails this time of year so we don’t miss our chance to sign up for classes. He was so on top of it all. If there was a technology or website, he was using it. If there was a new way to share information, he was trying it. Vicarious PD is a new one where employees attending conferences can upload their notes, videos and pics and you can be ‘trained’ from their experiences.  Without a doubt, he loved his job and he knew what he was doing. He actually had me thinking about applying for a 12 week Carnegie course he was so convincing.

Both these individuals inspired me to try to be better. To be up-to-date with the latest research and technology. To be able to easily remember and share what I learn. To end each day better than I started it. Not a bad take away at all!

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where do they get it from?

  1. tenilleshade says:

    Folks who make us want to to be better, try harder, and learn more are the kinds of people we need to surround ourselves with. Fellow slicers like you inspire me to write, and I am so thankful to be a part of this tribe. Passion is contagious, and I can sense the exhilaration you experience when you are learning something new. Thanks for posting!

  2. mgminer says:

    I love the feeling in your post. There is nothing like the passion for learning–it’s contagious and wonderful for those who are open to it. Thank you!

  3. Cathy Sankey says:

    I enjoyed your post. It is obvious that you exude positivity and seek opportunities for self-reflection and self-improvement. You are inspiring!

  4. Marcie says:

    PD is what keeps me going. I feel inspired, refreshed, and ready to tackle new things. I’m happy you found such terrific inspiration.

  5. bayouwarrior says:

    I look forward to our LA + organization with the same enthusiasm. Isn’t it grand to explore the world?

Leave a Reply

