Self-discipline, don’t have any tonight, or do I?

Write every day for a month. Simple stuff right? Well, it’s Day 2 of the month and I almost forgot. Geez, where is my discipline? Or is it lack of desire? Or maybe I’m just exhausted from my day job. Yes, that’s it, ding, ding, ding, ding!

But what counts is that I did remember and I’m writing.  Yes, I am. I was ready to get in my comfy bed and give warm and cozy. Instead, I’m in my soft chair with a blanket and my laptop. Almost as good from a comfort point of view. Better yet, I’m making progress told my goal of being a published author. I can also share with my students that I’m writing and persevering. If I can do it, I know they can.

I know this slice isn’t going to get me a book deal, but it is going to help me establish a routine. And maybe just a little bit of respect for discipline.

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Self-discipline, don’t have any tonight, or do I?

  1. Liza Miller says:

    I try to write first thing in the am but had to prep for a sub today so I was late, too! Hope we both stick with it!

  2. Crystal Brooks says:

    I could have written your post. I am sitting in a soft chair with a blanket typing on my laptop and I was #305, not because I forgot. I was working on my grad school work after working with kiddos all day. This is such a nice way to end the day.

  3. Building a habit isn’t easy! I love daily writing challenges but have found it’s all about the community. Knowing that others are committed and joining in, too helps me be more accountable. How about setting a reminder/timer on your phone or computer as a reminder? It’ll be worth it!

  4. I appreciate your slice today. Routines can be good. That’s something I’m constantly figuring out.

Leave a Reply

