Anyone out there Hingle?

First time for everything…I actually did my own taxes, by myself. Most of you are probably thinking, really? It’s not that big a deal! You’re right, it wasn’t. There’s just always been someone around who enjoyed doing it or could pay someone else to do it and I took advantage. It was easy to not worry about it. Although one of those someone’s was a procrastinator and we filed for extensions several years.

But what caught my attention most this time was that I had to label myself. The typical government form. Married. Single. Divorced. I stiffened as I read the choices, none of which matched my situation. I would like to see them be more specific.  Married, but not really happy. Single and loving it. Single and tired of explaining why at my age. Divorced, thank goodness. Or how about None of your business? I do understand there are legal ramifications, but what am I supposed to put?

I am single in the sense that I’m not living with anyone. But not in the sense that I’m looking to join the dating pool. I have been divorced, twice, but didn’t see that option. I would much rather share that I am happy. Maybe the term should be Hingle? Happy to be on my own, thank you very much. If I Twittered, I guess it would #Hingle. For those of you who do tweet, let me know if you get a lot of followers. Would love to know that I’m trending!

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Anyone out there Hingle?

  1. mrssurridge says:

    I vote that “hingle” gets a place in the dictionary. I will send your post on to all my hingle friends–there are many. #hingle!

  2. WW Erin says:

    I’m married now but was a long-tme hingle. 🙂 It’s difficult to be confronted with the pigeon holes of our culture. I have a 7-month old and I’m constantly wondering: If I put her in pink, am I no longer a feminist? Is it anti-feminist to abstain from pink just because of societal norms? It gets complicated… and in the end if doesn’t have poop on it, she wears it. If I get more money back, I mark the box on the tax form. 🙂

Leave a Reply

