That’s It! Rocks, Yes Rocks…

imageI had been walking around the neighborhood for 20 minutes and was ready to go inside. It was a mild morning for July and I hadn’t yet broke a sweat. I could go in and make my Bulletproof coffee and relax for awhile before my day really started.

But no, what about the rocks? It could work, but I wasn’t sure. That’s when I found myself veering off the path to kick over a medium size rock. Thank goodness no scorpions. I bent over to retrieve it. With the size and awkward shape, I could only carry one at a time.

I made my way across the street to my house with flower beds with no edging. I had been walking the neighborhood for two weeks analyzing every bed, both edged and un-edged. Edged was definitely better. Hence the rock that was now being placed as a border between the invading grass and the moving mulch. I stepped back to check the effectiveness. Ok, so it was a rock.

I returned to the wooded area to look for more possibilities. After placing two more next to the first, I convinced myself that this was my new edging plan, about $100.00 less than my previous one. So I started the process: kick over a rock, pick it up, carry across the street, artistically place next to the previous one, repeat. Luckily there were plenty to choose from and I quickly had one side done.

image

But then I decided I had to have one more rock. A big one, almost heart (or longhorn) shaped with interesting crannies. But I couldn’t lift it, not even with my legs bent, using the proper technique. I still wanted it. This is when insanity set in. I started rolling the rock, one side over the other, moving it what seemed an inch at a time. Thank goodness no one was out to see the Comedy that was ensuing. I rolled it from the woods, over the sidewalk and into the street. The whole time I’m hunched over, praying no car comes when I have it in the middle.

imageI’m starting to get tired and sloppy. All I needed was for it to land on my glove-less fingers. So I kept moving it. One side over the other. I made it to the other side and back on the grass. By the end I think I was just shoving it into place. Once it was close to where I wanted it, that’s where it stayed. By this point, sweat was dripping down my face. It hadn’t become all that much warmer, but my heart was pumping a lot more!

 

I only got one side done, but I was ready to call it a day. No matter that my house now looked a bit lopsided. I was tired, but so exhilarated that I had come up with a free, although labor intensive, method to reduce the flow of grass into my flower beds. I know that what I really need to do now is dig small trenches to anchor the rocks better, as well as reshape the beds a little to allow for sprinkler heads and symmetry. But there’ll be another morning. And there are always more rocks!image

 

 

About tammyyoga

I am 50+ and mostly proud of it! This is the half-way point of my life. I hunger for knowledge in many different areas. I want to go into the next half with continued good health including physical, mental and spiritual well-being.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s It! Rocks, Yes Rocks…

  1. elsie says:

    Just think of all the calories you are burning while rock collecting! This reminds me of the rock frenzy in our neighborhood. As new foundations were dug, rocks were exposed so people were scavenging for rocks to place in their landscape. Love the cost saving factor!

Leave a Reply

